Breaking News

Local council elections still going ahead

Queensland’s council elections will still go ahead this Saturday

Queensland’s council elections will go ahead this Saturday, March 28

We are being urged to bring our own pens and there will be no sausage sizzle but the Government has said that the local council elections will still go ahead.

Local Government Minister Stirling Hinchliffe said the Public Health and Other Legislation Amendment Bill allowed the Government and the Electoral Commission of Queensland to better respond to the latest expert advice as it emerges.

The latest expert medical advice is that there is no need to change the date for the local government elections or the by-elections.

“We don’t take these steps lightly,” the Minister said.

“Local government plays an essential role in delivering services and supporting communities, and we need to ensure these needs are being met.

“We will always listen to the latest exert medical advice and act on that advice.”

Despite widespread shutdowns associated with the coronavirus pandemic people are being urged to vote early.

Queensland Chief Health Officer Jeanette Young said the majority of people had already voted ahead of the March 28 poll.

“I would strongly encourage people in the remaining week prior to pre-poll vote,” Dr Young said.

She urged voters to bring their own pen, maintain a 1.5-metre distance from others, go into the voting booths, make their decision and leave.

“Don’t hang around,” she said.

“Normally our voting process is a very social event, we have sausage sizzles, we have fetes, we have all sorts of things.

“They are not happening this time so people just go straight in, vote, and straight out.”

However, anyone who is sick, in quarantine or isolation, is asked not to attend.

In addition, the ECQ is encouraging electors that are more vulnerable to COVID-19, including Queenslanders aged 60 and over, to vote early between 9am and 11am each day.

Additional ECQ staff will be available to provide support for vulnerable electors during the voting process.

If you prefer to avoid the crowds then early voting is available until Friday, March 27. Voting is compulsory for all residents over the age of 18.


To vote early in the MSC elections:

Kuranda CWA Hall, 20 Thongon Street, Kuranda.

The Cedric Davies Community Hub  41B Anzac Ave, Mareeba.

The returning officer for the Mareeba Shire is Suzanne Temple.

41B Anzac AVE, Mareeba – 1300 881 665


To vote early in the TRC elections:

19 James Street, Malanda,

St Marys Anglican Church, 36 Alice St, Atherton,

The returning officer for the Tablelands shire is Vittorio Falvo

St Marys Anglican Church, 36 – 38 Alice ST, Atherton – 1300 881 665


Telephone voting

The ECQ is also providing eligible voters, including those who identify as having an impairment, disability or a low level of literacy with access to telephone voting. Those eligible must register to cast a vote via telephone.

To register for telephone voting, phone 1300 912 782 and select option 1

To cast a telephone vote, phone 1300 912 782 and select option 2

The call centre will open from 9am to 5pm during early voting, with the hours being extended to 6pm on Friday, 27 March 2020 and will be open from 8am to midday on election day (Saturday, 28 March 2020).

For further information prior to the opening of registrations, please call 1300 881 665.


On election day you can vote at:


Biboohra State School, 2 Petersen Street, BIBOOHRA

Chillagoe State School, 9 Cathedral Street, CHILLAGOE

Dimbulah State School, 48‐50 Kennedy Street, DIMBULAH

Herberton Shire Hall, Cnr Grace and William Streets, HERBERTON

Julatten State School, 1141 Euluma Creek Road, JULATTEN

CWA Hall, 20 Thongon Street, KURANDA

Mareeba State School, 3/37 Constance Street, MAREEBA

Mareeba State High School, 17‐37 Jasper Street, MAREEBA WEST

Mount Molloy CWA Hall, Main Street, MOUNT MOLLOY

Mutchilba State School, 33 Marsterson Street, MUTCHILBA

Speewah Fire Shed, Cnr Speewah Road and William Smith Drive, SPEEWAH



Division 1

Merriland Hall, Robert Street, ATHERTON


Division 2

Herberton Shire Hall, Cnr Grace and William Streets, HERBERTON

Mount Garnet  QCWA Hall, 16 Garnet Street, MOUNT GARNET

Ravenshoe State School, F Block Hall, Jr School Campus, Ascham Street, RAVENSHOE


Division 3

Malanda State School, 24 Mary Street, MALANDA

Millaa Millaa State School, 1 Beech Street, MILLAA MILLAA


Division 4

Kairi State School, 2 McGeehan Street, KAIRI

Yungaburra State School, 4 Maple Street, YUNGABURRA


Division 5

Merriland Hall, Robert Street, ATHERTON

Atherton State High School, Maunds Road, ATHERTON


Division 6

Tolga State School, 35‐55 Main Street, TOLGA

Walkamin State School, 40 Wattle Street, WALKAMIN


For further information go www.ecq.qld.gov.au/elections/election-events/2020-local-government-elections

Most Popular

To Top