Breaking News

Tablelands grower elected to banana industry board

The Australian Banana Growers’ Council (ABGC) has welcomed fourth generation Atherton Tablelands farmer Andrew Serra to its Board.
Mr Serra was elected at the peak industry’s body Annual General Meeting, held at South Johnstone this month.
Mr Serra has a background in construction project management and serves in various industry roles including the Banana Marketing Strategic Industry Advisory Panel, the Panama TR4 Collaborative Working Agreement Group, the Banana Varieties Sub-Committee and the Banana Export Working Group.
The ABGC’s Chair Stephen Lowe said Mr Serra would be a valuable addition to the board.
“Mr Serra will be a familiar face to many, not only within his own community but in the wider banana industry. He’s already taken on representative roles, been an active member of the industry’s NextGen group and is regarded as an excellent grower,” Mr Lowe said.
Mr Serra said he was looking forward to the opportunity “to further represent the banana industry into the future as part of this great organisation.”
The ABGC farewelled long-serving WA representative Tom Day at the recent AGM, with Doriana Mangili, from Carnarvon’s Sweeter Banana Co-Operative, elected in his place.
Chair Stephen Lowe and Deputy Chair Leon Collins will continue in their executive positions, while Ben Franklin takes over as Treasurer from Stephen Spear.
“As we enter the next decade, I’m confident our industry is in very good hands with this influx of skilled directors on the ABGC board,” Mr Lowe said.
“2020 will no doubt bring its own successes and challenges, but I feel our diverse set of skills and experiences will ensure we continue to fulfill our role of advancing the interests of banana growers, right across the country.”

Most Popular

To Top