Local News

Four new Mayors for the region

Michael Kerr is the new Mayor of the Douglas Shire Council.

After nearly two weeks, the Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) has declared new mayors to four regions across Far North Queensland.

Last week Mrs Angela Toppin was declared the Mayor of the Mareeba Shire Council (MSC) defeating former MSC Councillor Edward Nipper Brown 53.06% to 46.94%

Earlier today the ECQ formally announced Mr Rod Marti as the new Mayor of the Tablelands Regional Council with 48.02% of the vote, nearly equal to that of his three other competitors combined, including defeating former Deputy Mayor Katrina Mellick who garnered 31.74% of the vote.

Yesterday the ECQ declared Port Douglas Councillor Michael Kerr as the new Mayor of the Douglas Shire, defeating incumbent Mayor Julie Lea 54.93% to 45.07%.

The community of Aurukun has also had a change of Mayor with Keri Tamwoy defeating incumbent Mayor Derek Walpo 55.49% to 19.93% respectively

The Cook region is still waiting on results for the mayor’s position with current Mayor Peter Scott leading Peter Skipworth by 880 votes to 757 votes, with approximately 65.70% counted.

Cairns Mayor Bob Manning was returned with 66.65% of the vote.



Most Popular

To Top