Local News

Nudgee students take out 2019 Wheelbarrow Race

WINNERS: After three days St Joseph’s Nudgee College from Brisbane were named the overall champions of the Great Wheelbarrow Race. They are pictured with the 2019 Face of the Race, Sandy Butler.

AFTER three days and 140kms it was St Joseph’s Nudgee College from Brisbane who took out the 2019 Great Wheelbarrow Race. The three day iconic event has been hailed a success once again with 46 teams running with a wheelbarrow from Mareeba to Chillagoe raising more than $140,000 for charity.

“Numbers were up this year and race morale was high,” said Great Wheelbarrow Race chair Cr Nipper Brown. “It was another great weekend and everything went really well,” he said. “The camaraderie, the courtesy they showed to each other and the support they gave to one another along the race was unbelievable as always. “I am also just amazed how the teams keep getting quicker each year with three new records set.

“And again we have managed to raise significant amounts for charity.” he said. In their fifth year running, St Joseph’s Nudgee College were named the overall winners for the first time, while also winning the School category in a new record time of six hours and 51 minutes. Hundreds of people turned out on Friday morning to watch the teams parade down Byrnes Street and then again to cross the finish line in Chillagoe, which chairman of the Wheelbarrow Race committee and councillor Nipper Brown said was fantastic to see.

“The support from the public was unbelievable again and the small town reception along the way was great as always.” Cr Brown said the event was so successful thanks to the people behind it. “If we didn’t have the volunteers as well as the committee it wouldn’t run,” he said. “Also without the sponsors this event would not be possible. “I’d like to thank the committee and the volunteers and all the competitors because without them coming back year in year out it wouldn’t happen.”

In other race results, the mixed category was won by Easier said than run, Ladies was won by The Wish Makers, Men’s by the Foot Falcons teams, while the SES Psycho Ducks took out the Corporate category. The over 55’s was again won by Dad’s Army and the 72ers won the over 35’s category. The solo’s were won by Isaac Winspear and Jeralyn Pickering, while Liam Pozzebon and Jake Priestly took out the Duo category and the local Hohns brothers won the new Trio category.

Most Popular

To Top